August Wrap Up | 2017

TBR: 

Main: 

Other: 

    What I Read:

    1: More Happy Than Not – Adam Silvera 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I liked this book more than I expected. I was worried it was overhyped and would ruin it for me. Thankfully it wasn’t the case. I had hoped it would of been a quicker read but it didn’t take too much longer than I had planned. 

    The writing style was easy to get into and keep me interested the whole time. I will definitely be checking out History Is All You Left Me in the future. 

    2: Emma In The Night – Wendy Walker 🌟🌟🌟

    I enjoyed this book. Felt it was a little slow paced and took a while to go anywhere but overall good. 

    Full Review: Here 

    3: Release – Patrick Ness 🌟🌟🌟

    This confused me.

    I didn’t understand why the other POV was there. I went into this blind which could be why I was confused, but even going in blind you shouldn’t be this confused the whole time. 

    I honestly don’t know how to rate this. By halfway I still didn’t get why the second POV was there. However the writing style made me unable to stop reading. 

    I feel like the second POV wasn’t needed at all. It should of only focused on Adam and his story. Or at least have the two POVs match up at some point and make sense to why it need both POVs. This just felt like two different stories put together as one story even when they don’t make sense being together. 

    I really enjoyed Adam’s part of this story which is the main reason for 3 🌟. Otherwise it would be a 1 or 2 at best. 

    4: The Child – Fiona Barton 🌟🌟

    This disappointed me. I felt this had too many  POVs for me. I understand why so many but I just find it a struggle to fully get into the characters when there’s so many different POVs. 

    I found myself not caring for any of the characters and just wanted the book to end. I think I only finished it because I wanted to know what happened to the baby. But even the twist at the end, that I didn’t see coming, didn’t make up for the 95% of the book being disappointing for me. 

    5: Isla And The Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I think this has more “drama” in that Anna And The French Kiss & Lola And The Boy Next Door. But I still really enjoyed this. I don’t really like Insta love normally. It seems over done in YA, but I still enjoy cute contemporary reads in summer. 

    This is definitely a perfect read for a summer night. Quick and easy, not much thinking needed. Highly recommended. 

    6: It Ends With Us – Colleen Hoover 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I find Colleen Hoover books don’t take me long to read. But it always leave me feeling something. This was no different. I felt a little emotional afterwards. I would love a novella showing her life a few years from now. 

    Colleen is definitely a favourite author of mine. I hope to be able to read more from her soon. 

    7: Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index – Julie Israel 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    This was a quicker read than I had expected. I had worried I wouldn’t like this, however I actually really loved it. I struggled to put it down. 

    I loved the writing style. I hope Julie brings out another book soon. 

    I also love that it wasn’t Insta love or anything I see over done in YA. Just a beautifully written story about grief and moving forward with your life. 

    8: Windfall – Jennifer E Smith 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    This was very easy to get into. Initially I was worried it would be a cheesy type of book. But it didn’t feel that way for me at all. 

    I’m glad it didn’t have Insta love as it’s something that I feel is over done in YA. I love how it’s set out in different parts over a few months. 

    Jennifer has a lovely writing style and I will definitely be checking out more from her in the future. 

    9: The Names They Gave Us – Emery Lord 🌟🌟🌟

    I thought this would of been a quick read like other books I’ve read this month. I did like that it was a little slower though. I think it made me understand the character more. 

    I really enjoyed the writing style and that it didn’t focus on the romance unlike a lot of YA. 

    The diversity in characters was good to me. I did like that it wasn’t made a big deal. 

    10: Just One Year – Gayle Forman 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I enjoyed this more than Just One Day. I felt it was easier to get into. Much better paced. 

    However one thing Willem kept doing annoyed me a little. Saying/Thinking one thing but doing another. 

    Actions Speak Louder Than Words. 

    I understand why it happened this way. But I still found it a little irrating later on in the book. 

    11: Just One Night – Gayle Forman 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    40 pages. Just the perfect length to end this story. Not much to say about it since it was so short. 

    12: The Watcher – Ross Armstrong 🌟

    I really disliked this. I didn’t care for any character or what was happening. I found myself confused so often 

    Review: Here

    13: #Girlboss – Sophia Amoruso 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I got this after watching the Netflix show. I was interested in reading her story. I felt like this was very honest and real. 

    I enjoyed the bits from other people and a small piece of their stories. I liked that she gave advice on certain things. 

    Perfect length and a quick read. 

    14: Down Among The Sticks And Bones – Seanan McGuire 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    I loved this. Just not as much as Every Heart A Doorway. 

    I think I wasn’t interested in Jack and Jill’s story going into this. Although I still really enjoyed it. I wanted a different characters story. Maybe one day. 

    I really love the writing style. As I have said before. Seanan puts so much detail into such short stories but it works so well. Doesn’t seem too much or too little. 

    I can’t wait for book 3. 

    15: The Change 1: London Orbital – Guy Adams 🌟🌟

    Found myself not really caring for this. Maybe if I was in a different mood maybe I would but I’m not really sure. 

    Review: Here

    16: Close Your Eyes – Nicci Cloke 🌟🌟🌟🌟

    This was a quicker read than I had expected. But I liked that. Especially since I was reading this in the 7 in 7 Readathon. 

    It didn’t get too intense for me until near the end. But I think it made sense that way. 

    I enjoyed the writing style and how it’s set out in different ways instead of the standard book style.

    17: The Change 2: The Queen Of Coney Island – Guy Adams 🌟🌟

    This was better than The Change 1 London Orbital. But still missing something. 

    The length was my main issue. 

    Review Here

    18: The Change 3 Paris: A City Of Fools – Guy Adams 🌟🌟🌟

    I enjoyed this more than books 1 and 2. Still too short and I wanted more once I had finished. 

    This was much easier to get into and enjoy for me.

    Review Here

    19: The Ocean At The End Of The Lane – Neil Gaiman 🌟🌟 

    This was my first Neil Gaiman book. I had high expectations for this due to the Goodreads reviews I saw. However I am left disappointed. 

    At first I thought I just wasn’t getting into this. But by 1/3 the way through I realised I just don’t understand anything. 

    This was beyond weird to me and not in a good way. 

    I will still try another Neil Gaiman book but I’ll have lower expectations. 

    20: Frost Like Night – Sara Raasch 🌟🌟🌟

    I did enjoy this but it just felt so slow that I had trouble keeping interested at times. I also struggled to want to pick it back up. 

    I think for me this is a trilogy that I have to read all 3 books all at once. As by the time I had gotten to this book I had forgotten parts of what happened in Snow Like Ashes & Ice Like Fire. Meaning this one was confusing at times. This is possibly a trilogy to reread one day.

    21: Big Little Lies – Liane Moriarty 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    For some reason I kept putting this off. But I quickly got into this as soon as I started it. I didn’t want to put it down. 

    I loved that I kept guessing who died the whole book, and was shocked to discover that I was wrong with every guess I made. 

    I did think at times it was a little longer than it needed to be. However by the time I finished the book I changed my mind on that. 

    I will definitely be checking out more of Liane Moriarty books.

    22: The Rose Society – Marie Lu 🌟🌟🌟

    I enjoyed this more than The Young Elites. Definitely easier for me to get into. However towards the end I started to feel like it had been going twice as long as it had. I did think the pace for better for the majority of the book. 

    23: Furthermore – Tahereh Mafi 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    For some reason I had put this off but I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I did think it would be a quick read for me like Shatter me was but at the same time I’m glad it wasn’t. 

    I found myself not wanting to put this down but having to so I could sleep. It may have started off kind of slow for me, but I felt it soon picked up once they were in Furthermore. 

    I love this world Tahereh Mafi created and need more. 

    Readathon: 

    • 7 in 7 – August 14th – 20th ✔

    The books I read during this Readathon were:

    1. #Girlboss – Sophia Amoruso 
    2. Down Among The Sticks And Bones – Seanan McGuire
    3. The Change 1 London Orbital – Guy Adams 
    4. Close Your Eyes – Nicci Cloke
    5. The Change 2 Queen Of Coney Island – Guy Adams 
    6. The Change 3 Paris A City Of Fools – Guy Adams 
    7. The Ocean At The End Of The Lane – Neil Gaiman 
    Leave a Reply

    